About the BolderBOULDER

In 1979 we dreamt of attracting a few hundred of our friends to race though the streets of Boulder, Colorado to celebrate Memorial Day with our families. Fast forward almost 40 years and the BolderBOULDER has grown to become one of the largest and most highly acclaimed 10K’s in the world.

Almost 1.2 million runners, joggers, walkers and spectators of all ages have gathered over the years to create a spectacle that defies description. Olympic medal winners and hopefuls, grandmothers and kids, running enthusiasts and one-race-a-year guests from all over the world come together at the foot of the Rocky Mountains to form one of the sport’s truly unique events. Each year we host 50,000+ participants and 100,000+ spectators throughout the course for what we like to call the biggest and best Memorial Day celebration on earth.

The BolderBOULDER is still locally owned and operated, and our dream continues. This event has taken on a life that we never quite envisioned, and it rewards us every year beyond measure. We hope you will join us to celebrate fitness, our country and this great state of ours, Colorado.

The Wave Start

The event grew so big that in 1983 we created “The Wave Start.” It’s pretty simple. Instead of one big mass start, waves just let you run with people your own speed. We divide the 50,000 participants into about 100 waves. Waves start with the fastest runners, then go to joggers, then to walkers.

Only the first 30 waves require qualification — meaning proof of one’s running pace. All other waves are open to everyone on a first come, first serve basis.

Memorial Day Tribute

The grand finale of the BolderBOULDER takes place at Folsom Field. Every year at noon, we end the BolderBOULDER by honoring the men and women who serve and have served our country, and all of those who have given their lives protecting our freedom. The stadium is open to everyone, so we invite you to join us to honor our country’s finest with an unforgettable ceremony.

Pro Wheelchair Race

Every year since 1990, the BolderBOULDER has begun with the Pro Wheelchair Race, our fastest finishers. The all-time records are held by 12 time winner Saul Mendoza with a time of 19:45, and 3 time winner Candace Cable with a time of 25:43.

Pro Race

The International Team Challenge finishes just before noon in front of the packed stadium at Folsom Field. It features the largest non-marathon prize purse in the world. Each year we attract several of the top 3-person teams from around the world for both men and women.

Cliff Bosley

Cliff Bosley

Race Director

cliff@bolderboulder.com

Steve Bosley

Steve Bosley

Race Founder

Stephanie Winslow-Sell

Stephanie Winslow-Sell

Marketing Communications Manager

stephanie@bolderboulder.com

Maddy Peavy

Maddy Peavy

Community Programs Manager

maddy@bolderboulder.com

Kristen Reiss

Kristen Reiss

Registration Operations Manager

kristen@bolderboulder.com

Frances Friedland

Frances Friedland

SportsEXHIBIT & Expo Director

frances@bolderboulder.com

Mike Prentice

Mike Prentice

Logistics Manager

mike@bolderboulder.com

Ron Bostwick

Ron Bostwick

Entertainment Coordinator

ron@bolderboulder.com

Celeste McDowell

Celeste McDowell

Human Resources Manager

celeste@bolderboulder.com

Don Janicki

Don Janicki

Pro Athlete Coordinator

don@bolderboulder.com